Holiday Zen Vs. Zany

For some, this time of year can be too hectic, too overwhelming. Too much family, too many commitments, too much rum-spiked nog, too many cookies. Just. Too. Much.

Thanks to my current lifestyle, I’m enjoying a slower holiday season than I have in ages. The gift-buying process has been a joy; I’ve had some time to stroll around downtown, soaking in the bustling spirit of the season (including some awesome steel drum versions of traditional Christmas songs). While I admit I’ve missed the millions of sweet and boozy festive gatherings and even the awkward office party obligation (in fact, my former workplace is lunching together as I type this), I’m remembering to enjoy the flip side of being completely overbooked.

The next week will be people-packed, and here’s hoping we can all maintain our sense of patience, Zen and compassion and  just relish one another’s company. Do you have any tricks for keeping the calm amid holiday nuttiness?

Here’s a little guide that some of you might find helpful.

“All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.” ~Havelock Ellis

Happy Tuesday, friends! Hope the pre-holiday week goes smoothly, and safe travels to those of you crossing the miles. I LOVE thinking about all the joyous reunions that will soon take place in bus depots, train stations and airports around the globe.


Leave a Reply

