A Day in the Life

*Disclaimer: I seem to be sickie and fighting some sort of infection this week, so my schedule is a bit more tame and home-based than usual. But I’d already agreed to play along, so I won’t break a promise….Here we go. Welcome to my life at present. Enjoy!

************************************************

Top o’ the morn! I wake up earlier than I would like and commence the bad habit of briefly checking my phone from bed (I really want to break this one). I try to go back to sleep for a wee bit but am not super successful…

photo

Brekkie time: cereal with blueberries, flaxseed & almond milk, tea, antibiotic

photo-536

Laptop o’clock: I putz around on the computer for awhile, catching up on emails, checking my favorite blogs (hello open-tab ADD) and finally settling in to commence some work. There’s a false alarm period during which I rush around thinking I’m going to 10 o’clock yoga (but then I change my mind and decide to attend the noon class after all).

photo-537

Java break: I’ve been on a tea kick for about the past week, but today I crave coffee. Cheers!

photo-538

Change of scene: The sun’s actually shining! So I move things to the balcony till yoga time…..Soundtrack of the morning: Live at KEXP Volume 7. Sidenote: I’ve spent way more time this morning taking pictures than I’d care to admit. It’s been fun anyway:)

photo-539

Finally, workout time: Me and my yoga mat march up the steep hill I know so well.

photo-540

Om: Welcome to my happy place.

photo-541

Temptation: Every time I leave yoga class, the heavenly aromas (and winding queue) from the wildly popular, unmarked Cuban sandwich shop across the way threaten to lure me in…Surprisingly, I’m WAY overdue a lunch there.

photo-542

Home sweet home: This is my ‘hood, complete with tree swings, wee cottage houses and camper vans. I think it’s adorable.

photo-543

The hills are alive: This is my street. It includes a mighty incline.

photo-544

Lunchtime: Back out to the balcony. I’d eat a wrap at every meal if I could. Today, it’s a wheat tortilla stuffed with turkey, TJ-bagged greens and avocado. (App=sea-salt rice chips with salsa; dessert=chunk of Theo’s chocolate. Mmm. I’m addicted.)

photo-545

Laundry day: I’m off on a weekend trip Friday (yippee!), so after showering, I decide I best  throw some wash in. There’s a laundry room on my floor, which is nice, but I often feel entirely too old to sill be scrounging for quarters on a regular basis….

photo-546

Speaking of...While the washer is going, I head to my 7-11 (AKA also my “bank”) to get a few more quarters, deposit a check and pick up cash for the weekend ahead. Hey, there’s my neighborly Thai restaurant truck gassing up out front! (A local character busts me for taking this photo and gives me a hard time, jokingly flexing his arms. Unfortunately, I’m too slow to capture him. It would’ve made for a great shot:))

photo-547

Gab session: While my clothes are drying, I phone chat with a friend. It’s nearly 4 o’clock. OOPS. Welcome to freelancing life….

photo-1

In need of air: I’m frustrated that I’ve spent most of the sunny afternoon indoors, so I hop in my very-pink elevator and head outside (snack inspired by an assignment I just completed moments earlier on apple picking).

photo-548

Water-bound: I repeat, I love my neighborhood.

photo-549

Strolling the canal….

photo-554

Office with a view: I pull out my laptop and do more writing.

photo-552

Waterside Wild: I put away my laptop and bring out my new read. I can’t wait to dig in.

photo-553

Buon appetito: A friend asks if I want to eat at this delicious burger joint in our hood. I’m very tempted to join him, but my head is still feeling muy wacko, so I decide another low-key night in instead is probably wise. Tonight it’s pasta leftovers.

photo-555

Fall is in the air: There’s a gorgeous Harvest Moon outside my window. Let the transitioning commence…

photo-557

Veg time: Somehow it’s 9, and I’m just now getting off my computer, having  gotten sucked into a bit more work and browsing who-knows-what. (Again, welcome to a freelancer’s kooky, inconsistent schedule.) I’m finishing the day with the dregs of a carton of ice cream (or soy cream, rather) and some DVDs that I need to return to the library stat. It’s been nice having this quiet downtime, but I’m really looking forward to reemerging back into the real world super soon…

photo-558

Confession: My attention span did not make it through the end of the movie, so I instead clean up a little, sip more tea, listen to part of a This American Life, hold a hot compress on my head/ear…

photo-560

Bedtime: I briefly start packing for my weekend trip and, finally, do a little journaling (I don’t do this every night, but I’m always thankful when I do). (DC) Washingtonians: Note my memento from home, a ganked Thai Tanic pen. It makes me exuberantly happy. Good night, y’all, thanks for spending the day with me!

photo-559

*This post was inspired in the part by the amazing Week In a Life series posted by the talented Rachel. Two friends and I decided to follow suit, doing our Day in the Life documentation on the same day in very different parts of the world (Amanda in Victoria BC and Emily in Kathmandu). It proved a really fun project, albeit quite the time-consuming one! But it definitely made me view my day (even a relatively dull one) with a renewed sense of attentiveness and purpose. Okay, who’s playing along next:)?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Voyidges | A Day in the Life
  2. emcool
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 09:42:43

    Fabulous pictures! Truly documented the flavour of your ‘hood and your day to day activities.

    Reply

  3. Cindy coolidge
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 10:07:11

    Your day sounded full! not a dull day at all. Great photos.
    Love that tablecloth.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Day in the life | gotcurls
  5. amandacoolidge
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 13:54:09

    Yes I loved this. Your neighborhood is so awesome. Love that your freelance life gives you the opportunity to CHOOSE how you spend your day. Yoga in the middle of the day. AWESOME.

    Reply

  6. Funnelcloud Rachel
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 14:03:45

    So much good stuff here, Corinne! Working from home/freelancing is such a journey of ups, downs, and lots of distractions. Loved reading about your day and it’s so relatable:

    1. Open-tab ADD: I suffer from this affliction, too!
    2. It’s even harder to accomplish things during my day when I’m trying to take pictures of everything. This project is SO time-consuming!
    3. Can totally commiserate with “Should I work out at 10? Or noon?” – sometimes it’s a curse to have so much freedom in my schedule.
    4. I could eat avocados and a bit of chocolate every day. (Might I suggest chocolate butter? I’m obsessed!)
    5. Laughed at your complaint about scrounging for quarters – having our OWN washer and dryer when we bought was the biggest luxury of being homeowners. (Downside: There is no weekly laundry day, as I feel like I am putting a load in round the clock.)
    6. Your neighborhood is gorgeous – love all the water views. 🙂
    7. I loved Wild – great book!
    8. My attention span and ability to focus seem to decrease the older I get. Why is this?!

    Reply

  7. Cornelia
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 10:53:17

    This was great! really enjoyed every part of your day:)

    Reply

  8. meghann
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 15:12:30

    When did you learn how to cook such lovely meals? Jealous! Can you come inspire my kitchen please?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

