Lake Street Dive

Do y’all know these guys? You should. I mean, really, you should.

I have seen and continue to see quite a bit of live music, and I can honestly say that this show was one for the record books—a concert I’ll never forget (along with that first time Langhorne/Sean spellbound me in teeny-tiny Iota and that evening the Fleet Foxes unexpectedly awed us all into collective silence with their harmonizing perfection on the Black Cat’s smaller stage, just before word got out, and they launched off into super-stardom).

In the presence of such genius, engulfed in such a special scene, when it all just falls into place, when it all works—I feel so lucky to share the space with these amazing artists who have decided to share their talent with us. I mean, with us!

Last night, too, there was magic in the air in the dimly-lit, sold-out room of the Tractor Tavern, the majority of surrounding Ballard businesses pitch black due to wild winds that had earlier knocked down power lines around town. But in the Tractor, we had light. And we had community. And we had soul. And we came together under those dangling cowboy boots to hear a voice that seems to come from otherworldly greatness. I won’t soon forget it. Thanks, Lake Street Dive. You were really something.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amandacoolidge
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 08:57:07

    wow i just love these guys, thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

  2. Funnelcloud Rachel
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 16:00:19

    Ooh, thanks for the recommendation – what a voice!

    Also, I think you mentioned before that you like Ha Ha Tonka – if you haven’t listened to their new album yet (I think it was released last month?), get thee to a computer and download immediately! Just started listening to it today and it is already one of my fav albums of the year so far! Amazing.

    Reply

    • travelcorx
      Nov 11, 2013 @ 19:33:17

      Thanks for the tip, Rachel! I can’t wait to listen:) And so glad you like Lake Street. Amazing, non?? Honestly, I was blown away. Keep the music recs a-coming!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

