Spring Day Musings

I am forever saying I need to break my addiction to/reliance on my phone, and I am feeling renewed inspiration to curb this bad habit after reading Rachel’s recent post. It’s not rocket science; I just highly suspect that my attachment to that lil machine, as well as to social media and my computer in general, doesn’t serve me well. It makes me more anxious, and it takes me out of the present. Big-time.

For example, on a day like today, a BEAUTIFUL, blue-skied Seattle day (welcome, Spring!), I was out on a wander (I took the longgggg route to the post office to mail some packages). But instead of enjoying it, I realized I was constantly checking my phone and feeling annoyed at the empty inbox and feeling guilty for this freedom, for all this time on my hands. But what am I doing with my life? kept rolling around up in that noggin. Stories. Ahh, the stories!

I am in a bit of a holding pattern at present (yep, again), one of those pesky, recurring freelance freeze-frames that test my patience and my ability to trust. But then today I started thinking: why am I not allowing myself to just relish this downtime and this beautiful place and all the simple pleasures that surround me? I would if I were on vacation or off on a global walkabout (like several of my friends are doing right now….). So why not now? What’s the difference?

So I forced myself to shut off my phone for a couple hours (okay, maybe only an hour-and-a-half…baby steps, people:)). I made myself really take it all in, to really SEE, to really listen. So much beauty!

The wind chimes, the dancing prayer flags, the seaplane engines, the gardening neighbors, the sunbathing black cat, the bike bells, the splash of ducks’ feet skating across the surface of the canal to secure safe landing. (And, I kid you not, a disintegrating tag (label?) floating in the water that read “CHILL.”)

Here are a few captures of the gorgeous day, taken before my phone went into glorious, peaceful OFF mode. This needs to be my new habit.

Happy Spring, y’all!

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Funnelcloud Rachel
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 15:16:19

    The love/hate relationship with technology and social media is such a challenge – and one I obviously struggle with! I seriously have a long-standing monthly goal to reduce my social media time and my break last month was the first time I was successful at it, though I am mostly back to my bad habits. (The secret was to give it up for an extended period of time – I’ve found that even giving up social media for a day isn’t enough time for my brain to let go of constantly thinking about what’s going on in FB/IG/e-mail land.) I think as writers/artists/photographers/creative people we have a constant need to document everything…even when the constant recording leads to stress/anxiety/feeling out of touch with the real world. Sigh. Another topic I could discuss for hours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

