Family & “Family,” Holidays & *Signs*

This past holiday weekend, I was feeling soooo homesick. Sure, I have a boatload of amazing friends here who now feel like family, plus I am SO lucky to have a surrogate “West Coast family” (my brother’s in-laws), who could NOT be more welcoming or warm to be around. (I spent a super fun and relaxed day with them on Saturday.)

And yet, this weekend I felt this deep aching for my family, our traditions, the familiarity and predictability of our holidays spent together—kooky quirks ‘n’ all. (I’ve also been feeling a bit disconnected recently from some of my home friends and craving their company and conversation, too.) Life feels so full as of late, and I am forever feeling I am dropping the ball on communication with someone who I care deeply about. It’s hard to keep up. And sometimes I worry the distance is actually taking a wee toll—yet I am determined to not let it win. It’s a balance, for sure.

Anyway, I didn’t quite know how I’d spend Easter Sunday, and since this is a veryyyyyy last-minute town, the invites started rolling in around Saturday afternoon/evening (!). Why do I worry? I should always remember that things will unfold as they should (sometimes just a bit later in this non-committal NW land!).

So in an unexpected, random outcome of events, I ended up going to a friend’s friend’s lovely brunch in a LOVELY West Seattle home, and the meal was exactly what I had been craving. Egg casserole just like my mom’s, banana bread, mimosas, overflowing spinach salad, pesto deviled eggs (um yum!), a beautiful, long table set with fresh flowers (just like my mom’s or aunt’s). It was a full house of adults and cute kids and a really mellow, easy vibe that just permeated the light-filled home. (I so crave to be this kind of host!)

When I walked in, I learned the happy news that this chica I really like was coming (who looks sooo much like my cousin Jen—Sunday was Jen’s birthday, and who has the name “Besty,” like my mom’s wonderful aunt), as was Betsy’s son Elliott (the same name as my D.C. cousin Pat’s son).

I suddenly released a massive sigh; the sadness lifted…I can’t fully explain it, but I no longer felt that my family was so far away.

Okay, Universe, I said. I get it. It’s all good.

IMG_0070

IMG_0111IMG_0091

I’m more and a more a believer in tuning in to these “signs,” these little lil’ zany love taps. Sure, you could write them off as silly “coincidences,” but I’m keen to draw more from it all.

Hoping you had a lovely weekend, surrounded by love & light, family & friends.

Leave a Reply

